Through a Glass Darkly

when smoke gets in your eyes and you’ll see who you really are inside then the truth will stare you at the eye ……

Poesy plus Polemics

"Through a Glass Darkly 2" Painting by Randy Elrod From randyelrod.com “Through a Glass Darkly 2”
Painting by Randy Elrod
From randyelrod.com

each dawn
I step into the mirror
and spend my days
watching the world hobble by
unaware of these eyes
who examine the crowds
searching seeking
to find one good man

each dusk
I step out from the mirror
and spend my nights
ruing the failures I’d seen
unaware of those eyes
who saw their reflections
and recognized
they were unworthy

it seems
what I do in the mirror
is naught but a waste
a presumptuous folly
proving only that I’m
no less failed and unworthy
that I’m not at all
the good man I seek

begs the question
what would I become
should the mirror
be shattered
between dawn and dusk
while I’m watching men
watching themselves
no means to escape

View original post

Leave a Reply

